Elliott Sadler wins Talladega Xfinity race after overtime wreck – USA TODAY

6 months ago Comments Off on Elliott Sadler wins Talladega Xfinity race after overtime wreck – USA TODAY

TALLADEGA, Ala. (AP) — Elliott Sadler celebrated his 41st birthday Saturday with his first victory in almost two years.

Mired in a drought that dated to May 4, 2014, Sadler didn’t mind waiting through a five-minute post-race review by NASCAR to be named the winner of the Xfinity Series race at Talladega Superspeedway.

NASCAR had to determine who was the actual leader when a caution froze the field in overtime. Brennan Poole crossed the finish line first, but was denied his first career Xfinity Series win when NASCAR said the field was frozen with Sadler still ahead of Poole.

“People don’t know how hard it is to win these races. It’s very emotional,” Sadler said in victory lane, choking back tears. “It’s a great birthday gift to me. Man, we needed this win.”

Sadler’s last victory, just four days shy of exactly two years ago, also was at Talladega.

Poole harbored no ill-will over the final result, even though he was dropped to third. Both Poole and Sadler sat in their idling race cars by the flagstand as NASCAR reviewed the finish.

“Just glad that they were able to take the time to get it right, and happy they are able to get the trophy to the rightful winner,” Poole said. “I just wish it was us. I thought we had it, just a little shy there.”

Sadler was chasing leader Joey Logano on the final lap when Logano tried to block Sadler’s attempt at a pass for the victory. Logano went high for a block, then low, but Sadler spun him during the rapid lane changing. Logano’s car turned into the wall and created a crash that brought out the yellow flag.

“I had my plan made up, I tried to get to the outside of Joey and he made a great block,” said Sadler, who credited himself with “a great save” after contact with Logano sent Logano into the wall and Sadler had to avoid also wrecking.

Justin Allgaier also waited inside his car for the review because even though Poole nipped him at the finish line, he wasn’t sure if he was the leader when the field was frozen. He ultimately was scored second behind teammate Sadler.

“I didn’t want to get out of my car because that seems like giving up,” Allgaier said. “The tape is the tape. It’s tough to lose one when it’s that close. They got it right.”

Sadler is just the second Xfinity Series full-time driver to win this season. Sprint Cup drivers have won seven of the first nine races this season.

With the victory, Sadler earns an automatic berth into the Xfinity Series’ inaugural Chase for the championship.

It was also his first win for JR Motorsports since joining that team this season. Sadler and Allgaier gave JRM the 1-2 finish, and the victory made it two consecutive wins for the organization after Earnhardt’s win last weekend at Richmond.

“It’s just great to drive for Dale. The guy wants to win races,” Allgaier said. “I’m just glad to be part of such a great organization.”

It was still a career-best finish for Poole, who didn’t lament his near-miss.

“I want the guy who deserves to be the winner to be the winner, and Elliott was the winner,” Poole said. “I’m just happy I got third out of the day at Talladega.”

Jeremy Clements finished a career-best fourth and was followed by Brendan Gaughan and Austin Dillon.

Logano wound up 27th.




USA TODAY Sports’ Jeff Gluck previews the top story lines at the upcoming Geico 500.

Sparks Energy 300

Saturday’s results from the 2.66-mile Talladega Superspeedway (starting position in parentheses):

1. (9) Elliott Sadler, Chevrolet, 116 laps, 44 points.

2. (18) Justin Allgaier, Chevrolet, 116, 39.

3. (11) Brennan Poole, Chevrolet, 116, 39.

4. (34) Jeremy Clements, Chevrolet, 116, 38.

5. (6) Brendan Gaughan, Chevrolet, 116, 37.

6. (3) Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 116, 0.

7. (2) Daniel Suarez, Toyota, 116, 35.

8. (1) Matt Tifft, Toyota, 116, 0.

9. (14) Chase Elliott, Chevrolet, 116, 0.

10. (17) Aric Almirola, Ford, 116, 0.

11. (20) Justin Marks, Chevrolet, 116, 30.

12. (35) Garrett Smithley, Chevrolet, 116, 29.

13. (15) Darrell Wallace Jr., Ford, 116, 28.

14. (19) Benny Gordon, Toyota, 116, 27.

15. (26) Ryan Preece, Chevrolet, 116, 26.

16. (10) J.J. Yeley, Toyota, 116, 25.

17. (29) Ross Chastain, Chevrolet, 116, 24.

18. (12) Jeb Burton, Ford, 116, 23.

19. (16) Brandon Jones, Chevrolet, 116, 24.

20. (5) Ty Dillon, Chevrolet, 116, 21.

21. (38) Ryan Sieg, Chevrolet, 116, 20.

22. (4) Erik Jones, Toyota, 116, 19.

23. (21) Brandon McReynolds, Toyota, 116, 18.

24. (13) Blake Koch, Chevrolet, 116, 18.

25. (40) Travis Kvapil, Ford, 116, 0.

26. (24) John Wes Townley, Chevrolet, 116, 0.

27. (8) Joey Logano, Ford, 115, 0.

28. (25) Mario Gosselin, Chevrolet, 115, 13.

29. (28) Ray Black Jr., Chevrolet, 115, 12.

30. (31) Carl Long, Dodge, 115, 11.

31. (7) Ryan Reed, Ford, 113, 11.

32. (32) John Jackson, Toyota, 112, 9.

33. (33) Bobby Gerhart, Chevrolet, 111, 8.

34. (22) Dakoda Armstrong, Toyota, electrical, 82, 7.

35. (36) Ryan Ellis, Chevrolet, engine, 81, 6.

36. (39) B.J. McLeod, Ford, engine, 39, 5.

37. (30) Chris Cockrum, Chevrolet, accident, 30, 4.

38. (37) Joey Gase, Chevrolet, accident, 30, 3.

39. (23) Morgan Shepherd, Chevrolet, rear gear, 27, 3.

40. (27) Jeff Green, Toyota, suspension, 2, 1.


Race Statistics

Average Speed of Race Winner: 132.477 mph.

Time of Race: 2 hours, 19 minutes, 45 seconds.

Margin of Victory: Under Caution.

Caution Flags: 6 for 29 laps.

Lead Changes: 20 among 13 drivers.

Lap Leaders: D.Suarez 1-2; M.Tifft 3-21; B.Koch 22; M.Shepherd 23; M.Tifft 24-25; A.Dillon 26-27; R.Reed 28-35; J.Logano 36-39; B.Jones 40-75; J.Clements 76-82; J.Logano 83-86; A.Dillon 87-89; C.Elliott 90-91; B.Gaughan 92; C.Elliott 93-97; A.Dillon 98-99; J.Logano 100-103; B.Poole 104-108; J.Logano 109-115; E.Sadler 116.

Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Led, Laps Led): B.Jones, 1 time for 36 laps; M.Tifft, 2 times for 21 laps; J.Logano, 4 times for 19 laps; R.Reed, 1 time for 8 laps; J.Clements, 1 time for 7 laps; A.Dillon, 3 times for 7 laps; C.Elliott, 2 times for 7 laps; B.Poole, 1 time for 5 laps; D.Suarez, 1 time for 2 laps; E.Sadler, 1 time for 1 lap; B.Gaughan, 1 time for 1 lap; B.Koch, 1 time for 1 lap; M.Shepherd, 1 time for 1 lap.

Top 10 in Points: 1. E.Sadler, 314; 2. D.Suarez, 314; 3. T.Dillon, 281; 4. J.Allgaier, 280; 5. B.Gaughan, 279; 6. B.Jones, 273; 7. E.Jones, 263; 8. B.Poole, 251; 9. D.Wallace Jr., 229; 10. R.Reed, 221.

Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Elliott Sadler wins Talladega Xfinity race after overtime wreck – USA TODAY

    Related Posts

    Mets name Matt Harvey Opening Day starter – USA TODAY

    7 months ago
    Matt Harvey will be the sixth different opening day starter the past six years for the Mets.(Photo: Steve Mitchell, USA TODAY Sports) PORT ST. LUCIE, Fla. (AP) — The... Read More

    Bolt is an inspiration to millions, so who’s next? – ESPN

    2 months ago
    Jamaica Observer Bolt is an inspiration to millions, so who's next?ESPNUsain Bolt once again led a pack of talented runners looking to lay claim to his throne. If he... Read More

    Tony Gonzalez to return in ’13 – ESPN

    4 years ago
    NFL Free Agency The NFL’s free-agent frenzy officially begins Tuesday, March 12, and ESPN.com will keep you updated with all the twists and turns of the signing period. • NFL... Read More

    Federer’s return from knee surgery delayed by stomach virus – USA TODAY

    7 months ago
    (Photo: The Associated Press) KEY BISCAYNE, Fla. (AP) — Rafael Nadal says his return to the Miami Open brings back mostly good memories, even though he’s 0-4 in tournament... Read More
    Real Time Web Analytics