Kenya Announces Olympic Marathon Team – Runner’s World

6 months ago Comments Off on Kenya Announces Olympic Marathon Team – Runner’s World

The women’s team:

The Kenyan federation listed Cyprian Kotut, 2016 Paris Marathon champion, and Bernard Kipyego, winner of the 2015 Amsterdam Marathon, as “reserve” members of the team. On the women’s side, Mary Keitany, two-time New York City champion, and Florence Kiplagat, half marathon world-record holder (1:05:09) were listed as reserves.

Kenya selects members of its Olympic team differently than the United States, where the top three finishers at the Olympic Trials who have the qualifying standard are automatically sent to the Games. It’s unclear what criteria Kenyan officials use to pick athletes and some say that a few omissions on the 2016 team are a surprise.

Dennis Kimetto, for example, currently holds the marathon world record (2:02:57), but the 32-year-old will not compete in Rio. Also missing is Wilson Kipsang, 34, previous world-record holder (2:03:23). Neither athlete finished the 2015 world championships race in Beijing and some media reports indicate that they asked not to be selected because the heat and humidity of Rio may present similar challenging conditions. Kimetto has also been injured during the past year.

Many outside observers also assumed Keitany would be a natural choice for the team and some had speculated that Joyce Chepkirui, who placed third at the 2016 Boston Marathon, would also be selected.

The women’s Olympic marathon is scheduled for August 14. The men’s race is the final event of the Games, on August 21.

The United States marathon team was selected in February at the Olympic Trials. The men will be represented by Galen Rupp, Meb Keflezighi, and Jared Ward. The women include Amy Cragg, Desiree Linden, and Shalane Flanagan.

Kenya Announces Olympic Marathon Team – Runner’s World